Getting ready, slow and steady, 4 Days to Danskin

This view is my reward for running 28 minutes without walking

Yesterday I took as an unexpected rest day. It was the first day I had been back in my classroom and I spent several hours moving heavy furniture and boxes. So I decided to call it a strength training day and get back on the swim/bike/run program today.

Since I was expecting my new bike stem to come in today I had originally planned to ride. However, it didn’t arrive so I decided to run. I tried Week 8, Day 1 of Couch 2 5k. Again. And I did it. I ran 28 minutes without walking any of it. It was hot and humid so I decided to start out running as slowly as possible. And I definitely ran slowly. V-E-R-Y   S-L-O-W-L-Y. But I ran. The whole way.

I’m feeling better about my ability to run the entire 5k portion of Sunday’s Danskin Triathlon in Sandy Hook, NJ. Yea! I’m also feeling better about the possibility of running a 10k in the very near future.

2 responses to “Getting ready, slow and steady, 4 Days to Danskin

  1. So happy you had a great run! 🙂 I also think it was a smart decision to listen to your body and take a rest day, especially with the triathlon approaching.

Leave a Reply

