June Wrap-Up

I had been diligent about my running and it was going well. Any time I felt like I just couldn’t run another minute, I slowed my pace to barely a walk and reminded myself that thousands of people successfully completed this program and so could I. I thought of the contestants on “The Biggest Loser” and their ability to push themselves and thought, if they can do it, so can I.

The biking training wasn’t going quite as well. I was riding once per week with my friend. The first ride was from my home in Brooklyn to Prospect Park (1 mile) and one loop (3 miles) around the park and back. Next we did the same ride with 2 loops around the park. The third and final ride before the tour we rode two loops (12 miles total) around Central Park. Yes, the longest ride we did before the 33 mile tour was 12 miles. But the course was supposed to be pancake flat and our goal was to finish – not to be fast. We agreed we’d go slow and stop as often as needed.

Leave a Reply

