July Wrap-Up

Field Station: Dinosaurs

Field Station: Dinosaurs

The  5K was over. The bike tour was over. My friend and I decided we needed to choose something to do next. I had come up with two ideas: The Danskin Sprint Triathlon in September and the Rock n’ Roll 10K in October. We chose the Danskin tri.

Since I didn’t have any trips or projects planned for the summer, I figured training would be my summer project. We continued to meet once per week or so to ride but swam and ran on our own. Or tried to run. July was horribly hot and humid. Temps were in the high 90’s and so was the humidity so the heat index was over 100. I couldn’t run. I tried the treadmill at the gym again but, again, I was just as hot as running outside and only lasted 5 minutes. I was discouraged and figured, if I had to, I’d walk the run. Or at least run/walk it.

Swimming, on the other hand, was going well. A huge, free, 100 meter x 40 meter outdoor pool opened for the summer a 10 minute bike ride from my house. I found a “couch to mile” swimming program online and started to work my way up.

I searched around online and found a ton of beginner sprint distance triathlon training programs but ultimately tried to swim and run 3x/week. I really didn’t like my particular bike so I only biked with my friend. Besides, every time I biked I felt a little knee pain and started wondering if I should get it checked out.

I wish I could say I was supremely dedicated in my training, but by the end of July my running had dropped off almost entirely. I was swimming but not much else. On the other hand, I was taking advantage of my time off to reconnect with friends I rarely get to see during the school year and enjoyed a visit from my mom. Whenever I felt guilty about not training, I reminded myself that the point was to have fun, not to finish in a certain time. I reminded myself that a large reason for registering for this event was to have something to do with my friend. And that a large reason I wanted to become fit beyond a healthy level but at an athletic level was to broaden my social circle in NY. What was the point of broadening one circle if I ignored the other? Social bonds are so important and I decided they would always take priority over training – as long as I was still able to exercise for 30 minutes 3-4 times/week for health, I wasn’t going to worry about it.

So I spent one day with my sister and two nephews at a dinosaur museum in NJ. It was a day that both running and swimming were on the schedule. I did neither. And I don’t regret it. The day was one of the highlights of the summer and a day that both nephews still talk about, one month later.

Leave a Reply

